Leicester School of Biological Sciences

15 September 2008

Downloading a course archive file from Blackboard

Filed under: Blackboard, how_to, recycle — Tags: , , — jobadge @ 1:52 pm

The Blackboard system is backed up every night at 2am, however, the back up taken is a whole of system one and cannot be used to restore individual courses. It is therefore recommended that you create a back up file of your blackboard course site regularly. A copy should be taken at the end of each academic year to preserve the teaching materials used in that year for QAA purposes.

The Blackboard back up file (called an archive) is created by the server at your request and stored on the course site (full instructions on how to create your own archive file). You can take a copy of the file to download to your own computer. The archive file cannot be opened and viewed but can be restored to Blackboard if needed.

To collect your archive file:

go to the CONTROL PANEL and choose ‘archive course’ from the course settings menu

control panel

Right click on the long filename in blue to download the file to your local computer.

right click on long filename

right click on long filename

Once the file is downloaded you can delete the archive from blackboard by clicking ‘remove’.

delete the archive file from Blackboard

delete the archive file from Blackboard

1 September 2008

Creating a back up of your Blackboard site

Filed under: Blackboard, how_to, recycle — Tags: , , — jobadge @ 11:16 am

The Blackboard system is backed up every night at 2am, however, the back up taken is a whole of system one and cannot be used to restore individual courses. It is therefore recommended that you create a back up file of your blackboard course site regularly. A copy should be taken at the end of each academic year to preserve the teaching materials used in that year for QAA purposes.

The Blackboard back up file (called an archive) is created by the server at your request and stored on the course site. You can take a copy of the file to download to your own computer. The archive file cannot be opened and viewed but can be restored to Blackboard if needed.

to create an archive file:

go to the CONTROL PANEL and choose ‘archive course’ from the course settings menu

control panel

next click on ‘Archive’ to create the backup file

archive file

The file will be created by the server and you will be sent an email when it has been created

Going back to the ‘archive course’ menu, you will now see a new file has been created. Right click on the long filename in blue to download the file to your local computer.

right click on long filename

right click on long filename

16 April 2008

Is my list of students up to date on Blackboard?

Filed under: Blackboard — Tags: , — jobadge @ 12:13 pm

Jo Badge has updated all the student enrollments for the second semester on Blackboard. If you believe that you have students registered on your course erroneously, please contact Jo, or check with Louise Johnson in the school office.

15 April 2008

Can I re-use a Turnitin assignment from last year?

Filed under: how_to, turnitin — Tags: , , , — jobadge @ 8:39 pm

Turnitin assignments can be re-used from year to year. All assignments are recycled at the end of the previous academic year and the student attempts and submissions removed.

Click on ‘modify’ next to the assignment and change the dates for the new deadline for the current year. Don’t forget to update the deadline in the text box as well. You will need to refresh the list of students by using ‘roster sync’ to list them all in the Turnitin Assignment inbox. This means you will be able to see which students have not submitted thier work.

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.